i finally took this road

  If you want to create, you have to sacrifice superficiality, some security, and often your desire to be liked, to draw up your most intense insights, your most far-reaching visions.  -Clarissa Pinkola Estés

My friend Chelsea keeps telling me to blog my poetry. Of course, my usual excuses rear up: no one reads poetry anyway.  No one even likes it.  Why expose my most cherished hours and most treasured work to the perfect opportunity to be mocked?

Well. I dared myself to.

Because my mom told me,
“Put yourself out there.”
and God said
“do not live in fear.”

For my own sake, then, I have to not care what you think. 
Here’s to hoping my words bless.

One thought on “i finally took this road

  1. Yay! You did it! I’m so proud of you for putting yourself out there! I’ve read through everything you’ve posted that I hadn’t read before, and I can honestly say that I love it all. We will discuss them more in person, so I won’t ramble for too long, but great job!

Leave a Reply

